Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above claim states that Pirouettes Ballet School(which I shall abbreviate to PBS, for the sake of this essay), is unquestionably the number one choice when it comes to choosing a dance school in Elmtown. There is an assertion that the School boasts superiority with respect to the program, the pedigree of the teachers and the future scope that their graduates have. Let us dissect this argument a bit further.

The first claim purpoted is that PBS has the "most intensive program". But evidence in terms of data or survey results have not been mentioned. In fact, the passage has not even bothered to elaborate on what is meant by being more intensive. Are the practice sessions more frequent and longer than other schools? Is each student being given more individual attention? Will the students be taught right from the ichoate stages, or is a certain level of proficiency in dance prerequisite? A parent would need to know all of this, before making such an important choice for their children.

The next claim espouses the proficiency of the teachers, who have "danced in the most prestigious ballet companies". Are they at a higher level in comparison to the teachers from other dance schools? Do they have experience teaching ballet to students, starting from the most rudimentary skills? Once again, no information has been given, that would give a better understanding with regards to the above points. We may doubt neither the level of skills nor qualification of the potential teachers. Nevertheless, no matter how talented the guru, if he/ she cannot inspire their pupils, and share their knowledge and skill effectively, then it would be difficult for the students to follow.

The third claim is with respect to the students who graduated from the dance school, and went on to become professional dancers and join top dance troupes. The batch size of the graduates, how many years they trained and their proficiency in comparison to graduates from other dance schools, are just some of the things, in support of which the narrator could have embellished data. Sharing the contact information of a few of the graduates, would also allow potential students to gain more insight into the kind of training that would be provided, and the other amenities the school would provide in order to master the art.

In conclusion, the PBS may be the best choice of dance school to go with, as mentioned in the argument. However, it needs to be augmented with more information, including comparison data with other schools, survey responses and detailed information on the program itself.