Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Privacy, one of the fundamental rights of man, has been the topic of discussions recently. And rightly so. While we have governments and business conglomerates seeing every opportunity to mine data from the common man, it behooves us to stand up to these human rights infringements and demand more accountability. Let us talk about the policy of monitoring that has been proposed above, and what the potential fallout of implementing this could be, especially in the current atmosphere.

Monitoring the email activity of employees is a flagrant act of privacy invasion by the company. Employees would not be comfortable having their mails, chats and call histories being watched by company superiors. Introducing such policies would create conflicts between disgruntled employees and superiors, who may threaten to leave the company. New employees would think twice before committing 2-3 years of their servitude to an organization that openly spies on its employees' activities, in the name of increasing efficacy and security.

Introducing this policy may also not be effective in the direction that has been propounded. In fact, it could turn out to be counter-productive. The claim is that such monitoring would reduce the waste of time and system capacity. Both constitute tenuous reasons, without any data that would convey a lack of efficiency in time or space. Even if they were to curtail these freedoms, the recalcitrant employees would find other ways of correspondence, such as Microsoft Teams. If there is evidence citing a lack of efficacy among the employees, alternate ways that are more effective and less invasive have to be thought of. This could be something like a periodic performance review, incentives such as bonuses and extra days of leave for work done ahead of schedule, or in the extreme case, an induction of new employees followed by laying off the slovenly ones.

The policy would ruin employee satisfaction as well, turning them against the superior and HR managers. Some may consider redressing the issue of infringement of employees' rights to worker unions, or worse to media outlets. The companies name and reputation would be vilified and tarnished. Instead of protecting the company from external lawsuits, they would have to fight lawsuits from their own employees!

In conclusion, no amount of time and resource wastage can be cited as a valid reason to snoop on one's own employees. Introducing this policy would create far more severe problems than there already are.