The following is a memo given to the residents of a housing complex.

"Studies show that in 70 percent of traffic accidents, at least one driver involved is less than 10 miles from home when the accident occurs. This statistic indicates that drivers have a tendency to drive incautiously when they are close to home, probably because familiar surroundings give them a false sense of security. Thus, the places where people feel safest are the places where they are in fact at greatest risk of serious injury.”

The memo in the above paragraph argues that the places where the people feel the safest are the places of the most serious injury. However, on close scrutiny of the facts presented in the argument above one can easily see that the facts are filled with gaping holes and one can conclude that the memo above is terribly flawed.

The memo first states that in 70 percent of the accident involved at least one driver is less than 10 miles away from the home when the accident occurs. Over here the statement sounds quite vague as it does not clearly say from where the data was taken. Were these accident near the housing society where this memo was given neither does it tell the approximate figure of the no of accidents neither the time duration over which these accidents were recorded and this makes the argument very weak. Because is the accidents were recorded over the period of 2 years and if the total number of accidents were 10 then only seven accidents involved drivers who were less than 1 miles from their homes. Because of this fallacy one cannot exactly fathom the carelessness of the drivers who were close to their homes.

Then the argument neither mentioned the season nor does it mentioned the type of vehicles involved in the accidents neither does it dwell upon any more details on how the accidents take place like, a head on collision, collision due to vehicles directly ramming into any barriers, engine failure or accidents during overtaking other vehicles. So, it becomes very difficult to identify the exact reason of this accidents making the claim sound very hollow.

The study neither mentions who is at fault in most of these accidents as it might be the case that drivers who are familiar with the area may be driving normally considering all factors involved in the terrain but the drivers who do not have any experience of that area might drive either recklessly or too cautiously ignoring the limits of that road thereby causing accidents so we cannot be sure of the facts that the drivers who are near to their homes are the only ones to be blamed in these accident as being familiar with the area they are likely to drive better in that area as compared to people who are unfamiliar with that area.

This brings us to the next flaw in the argument that is the memo nowhere mentions the geographical terrain where the accidents took place as if it were a sharp curve or a steep slope the probability of accidents increases manifold. Not only terrain the memo also does not mention the weather conditions in which the accident took place as on a rainy, snowy or foggy day accidents are bound to happen due to various factors such as slippery roads, lack of visibility etc.

And over here we must also consider the state of drivers in which they were driving their motor vehicles as multiple accidents may also be due to cases like drink and drive, road rage or some drivers who indulge in racing on roads so it would be unfair to put the entire blame on drivers who lived nearby and thereby stating that whenever people fell the safest are the places of most serious accidents. Sure, some of these accidents might have happened due to the above-mentioned habit in the memo but to put the blame of nearly all the accidents on that trait of people seems quite unfair to me.

Hence, I would say that the memo above is neither persuasive nor factual. It has failed to present any credible evidence for the facts it has tried to present.