to understand major characteristics if a society one must study its major cities

The statement here asserts that to understand major characteristics if a society one must study its major cities and I am in total disagreement with the statement made above. Cities do not make up, nor do they represent the whole society hence it would be fundamentally wrong to judge the characteristics of the society by studying the major cities.

The first serious flaw which I can see in this statement is that the there is a total disregard for the fact that major cities although quite large in population represent a minuscule percentage when compared to the entire society. A large number of populations still resides in smaller cities, towns villages and tribal areas. And the major cities would certainly not represent the characteristics of the population living in these areas. Major cities are an amalgamation of people coming from all walks of life in search of a better livelihood and the vast opportunities present in the cities play a huge role in it. The result of which is that the living standard of a vast majority of people would be substantially higher than that of people living in other areas of the society and also due to amalgamation of several cultures these cities become a melting pot of diversity in culture people but this somewhat results in loss of the typical characteristics of the people living in this society hence it would be unfair to only look at major cities.

The second grave flaw which can be spotted over here is the diversity in the society i.e., if the society is very diverse i.e., there is a change in culture, language and dialect at a very short distance then it clearly means that there is a substantial change in geography, climatic conditions which means different occupations and lifestyles of living so in such a scenario the means of income are likely to be different and therefore the major characteristic’s will differ to a great extent which cannot be studied my merely looing at the major cities.

The third flaw I see here is that the passage does not take into account the immigration and emigration which happens in the society especially the major cities which again distinctly changes the characteristics of the people living in this change in not reflected in the people living in semi urban, rural or tribal area who are more traditionalist in nature thereby the characters of those people in various aspects of life will be a stark contrast to the ever evolving vulture of the major cities and therefore I have a feeling that the constantly evolving characteristics of the society in major cities will not adequately represent the society as a whole.

Now there are some points where I can understand the chain of thoughts of the author that people from all over the society come to the major cities hance we can understand the major characteristics of the society by having a look at the cities but the point missed by the author is that the man who comes to these major cities from different parts of the society has changed in multiple aspects such as a culture, lifestyle, occupation and is a stark contrast to the one who had just arrived in the city so now the man would not correctly identify the major characteristics of that region he belonged to but rather he identifies more with the city.

Therefore I fell that the above argument presented though well intended seems highly inaccurate and clearly stems from a shallow thought process and a lazy research.