The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complain

In this argument, the author concludes that the change from butter to margarine has had little impact on customers based on the low complaint rate and the report from servers. However, there are some alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation, challenging the convince of the argument.

First, it is possible that the actual rate of unsatisfaction is far more than 2 percent. The 2 percent of complaint rate does not mean that the residual 98 percent of customers are satisfied with margarine, who may be not willing to take the action to make complaints due to introvert personality or choose not to patronize the restaurants any more as their responses. Without ruling out these possibilities, the argument is questionable.

Second, it is highly possible that the sample size of 100 is big enough to represent the whole customers. The result of low rate of complaints may be special case within the 100 samples and cannot apply equally to the whole picture, which means the rate of complaints may be very high outside the samples. Therefore, the conclusion is problematic without taking this possibility into consideration.

Third, the report from servers may be susceptible. It is possible that the goals of servers and restaurants are not congruent, thus servers do not have the motivation to report fairly even if the customers are highly fastidious with the use of margarine. For example, the salary of servers is fixed and not related to the economic performance of restaurants, in which reporting high rate of complaints just add their workloads without any additional benefits in the salary. Without confirming the accuracy of the report form servers, the argument is not reliable.

To sum up, the author should consider more about the alternative explanations that could account for the facts presented, thus making the argument more solid.