Some people want government to spend money on searching for life on other planets. However, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth has so many problems.

Discuss these two views and give your own opinion.

there is a debate whether goverment should spend financial expenditure on serching for life in the universe, in which some individuals think it is a must while others argues that it is a waste instead.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to search for life on other planets. first, the intrinsic nature of human is the curiostity to the world, with which we have made tremoudous achievements. In the past time, the technology of increasing agricultural productivity was invented when we struggeld with hunger. we can expect there will be more and more scientific findings if we continue to make efforts to explore the universe. second, only goverment have the ability to undertake the task of searching for life with the tax income given that it is impossible for companies to have the willingness to do it because of the bankruptcy risk.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why it is seen as a waste for some individuals. first, there are more realistic development issure which needs the urgent treatment of goverment. For example, a lot of people are struggling to improve their life standards given that the agricultural productivity there could only let them live and they do not have extra fund to acquire more material capital or human capital. second, there will be a huge opportunity cost for the searching activity because of the limited resources of goverment, which is exacerbated if the activity is not successful. The searching activity may crowd out the potential expenditure on other project and slow down the pace of the constuction of the whole society.

From my perspective, I think the goverment should balance the problems between universe and reality to ensure the urgent developmet issues could be addressed at a priority.