Claim Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture based instruction in college and university courses Reason It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers

To some extent, I agree with the argument that it is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal. However, the arguer extends the opinion to an extreme that the traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses should be eliminated which leaves no room for alternative learning method except for group assignments. On balance, my points of view and deep analysis are as follows.

Indeed, it is a good way for students to learn from each other and concentrate on the same topic within a limited period to complete the group assignment on time, in which the strength of group members will be consolidated and enhanced, and the weakness will be circumvent otherwise. We can expect a better-quality works through this process if it can be implemented repeatedly.

However, the improvement of the team will be constrained to a celling level without the instruction of traditional lecture given that the knowledge of group members are homogenous and limited to a relatively low level. With the intervene of traditional lecture-based instruction, the group members can break their bottlenecks and obtain new development. For example, in the case that a group lack an adequate and suitable technology to assess extent of the impact of global warming on the development of the industry, teachers can teach the latest and advanced knowledge on time, thus empowering the group the corresponding abilities to continue to do their jobs.

The combination of group assignments and traditional lecture-based instruction would be the best way to cultivate students, for whom the collaboration and the reverence of knowledge is equally important. Students would become too complacent and conceited to have the motivation to learn more and better if they cannot recognize their inherent limitations, which the lecture-based instruction can give and compensate. We can imagine an individual with a certain level of knowledge but lose the curiosity of the world, and then how could the person have further capacity for improvement?

In conclusion, traditional lecture-based instruction cannot be replaced though it is universally acknowledged that it is significant to collaborate with peers through group assignments. The two ways are equally vital and can supplement the weakness resulted if only one learning method is maintained.