While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above memo, the author argues that all teachers in the high schools of Sanlee should assign homework no more than twice a week. The author supports his claim based on the survey that though fewer teachers in Marlee than in Sanlee reported assigning homework 3 to 5 times a week, students in the high school of Marlee earn better grades than students in Sanlee. Thus ostensively, implementing a similar strategy of assigning less homework as Marlee, students’ performance at the high school in Sanlee will be better. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that by implementing a similar strategy as the high schools of Marlee, the performance of the students in high schools in Sanlee will improve without providing any justifiable evidence regarding the high schools in the two regions. One may raise questions like are high schools in these two regions similar? In other words, is the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to predict and generalize another authentic? There is a possibility that teachers in Manlee are more capable of teaching than teachers in Sanlee. If the above situations is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author does not provide any admissible evidence regarding the students and teachers of high schools in both regions. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart about the students and teachers, then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author supports his claim based on the survey report of teachers from both regions without sufficient information about the responses. Percentage is a tricky situation, without an absolute number given one can not use percentage as a measure. Is using only percentages without absolute numbers to determine something veritable? Maybe there are only 12 teachers from Manlee who responded to the survey whereas 1000 teachers from Sanlee responded to the survey. In this case, one can not argue that the survey is representative. The author does not provide any data regarding the survey and uses only percentages to determine the outcome of the survey. The author has to give legitimate data perhaps in a form of a statistical data chart regarding the number of teachers from both districts, who responded to the survey to rectify his argument, otherwise, the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted.

Thirdly, the author argues that students’ performances from the Manlee district are better than students’ performances from Sanlee since they are getting less homework per week. Is less homework the only reason for better performance? Maybe most of the students in Sanlee have to do part-time jobs after their school to support their family which significantly affect their performances whereas most students from Sanlee belong to more wealthy household and their primary focus is only on education. Even if this is not the case maybe most of the students in Marlee go to private tutors after school and there they are getting more than twice a week homework whereas most of the students from Sanlee only depend on teachers from their school. If any one of the above situations is true then the author’s argument holds no water. The author has to provide more genuine data perhaps in a form of a systematic research study regarding the conditions of students of schools from both regions to strengthen his argument.

In conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that in order to improve the students’ performances teachers from Sanlee district should not assign homework more than twice per week.