The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complain

In the above memorandum, the business manager claims that in order to reduce the cost of purchasing butter, the southeast and the northeast branches should also change to margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants. While the assertion from the business manager might prove true, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that diminish its credibility.

To begin with, the manager assumes that 98 out of 100 of the restaurant customers are happy since only 2% of the customers complained. But this might not be the case. Even if not all, maybe a few out of the 98% might not have liked margarine but still chose not to complain about it, choosing not to make a fuss out of something so little of an issue. Perhaps, if the manager had conducted a detailed survey with all of the restaurant’s customers asking them if they liked the new change and if they preferred margarine to butter or if they have any complaints about the new change and such questions, then it would help the manager to bolster his assumption that 98% of the customers have no complaints with the change from butter to margarine.

Second of all, the business manager mentioned about the servers to have reported that when the customers who asked for utter was served with margarine, they didn’t complain about it. Then again this assumption might be false, because, oftentimes when customers experience an issue, when it’s only a minute problem at that, they tend to feel it's not worth the hassle of complaining about, so they won't bring it up at all. If this is the case, then there is a possibility that the customers do have complaints about them being served with margarine when they asked for butter but they just chose to stay quite about it. This could plausibly lead to the restaurant losing its customers.

Finally, the business manager had concluded that since the number of complaints is very less overall, the southeast and the northeast branches should also change to margarine from butter. Nonetheless, the rage of the customer chosen for this confirmation has not been mentioned such as the age and the gender of the customers, as well as the location of the branch, which matters a lot in this case. Say if all the customers chosen for this research has been in the age range of 40-45 or so, then they might tend to be more health conscious. And since margarine is healthier compared to butter, they might have had no complaints.

Or perhaps, this branch of the Happy Pancakes house restaurant could have been present next to a fitness centre or a gym, then the restaurants customers would tend to be people who frequent the gym or the fitness centre. Then again out of health considerations, these specific set of customers might prefer margarine to butter. Therefore, the manager needs to consider the other two branches location along with the age and the gender of the customers that frequent the other two branches before assuming that this “cost-saving change”, would be a success in the other branches too.

In conclusion, the argument, in its current form, is flawed as it lacks sufficient evidence to support its claims. The inclusion of more robust and relevant evidence would enhance the argument's effectiveness by providing a stronger foundation for its conclusions and increasing its credibility. Without such evidence, the argument remains unconvincing and fails to adequately support its claim. For the business manager to be more compelling and persuasive, it is imperative that he incorporate additional well-researched evidence that directly relates to the points he or she is making.