The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memorandum from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants, it is stated that the restaurants have started using margarine instead of Butter which is saving a lot of money, hence it will increase profit throughout southwestern, southeast and northeast United States. Based on the customer's reaction, they made this assertion that customer's are liking the new change in the restaurants which will be beneficial for the revenue of Happy Pancake House Restaurants. However, before this prediction can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, do we know the percentage of customers that didn't complain regarding the change is happy? It is possible that those who didn't fall into the '2 percent of customers that made complaints' didn't actually like having margarine in place of butter, yet they didn't want to sound rude to the employees of the restaurant by saying it upfront. If any of these scenarios has any merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument doesn't hold water.

Second of all, do we know the customers who didn't complain when they were given margarine even after asking for butter return to that restaurant? It is possible that those customers thought that it was unncessesary to make the complaint when the employees didn't abide by the request at the first place which compelled them to never return to that same restaurant again. Further, probably any sort of customer review was not taken into consideration to determine the reason whether they liked the food or not. If this is correct, then the assertion becomes significantly weakened.

Finally, was any survey conducted to understand whether the customers can distinguish between butter or margarine? It is possible that there was no survey done to ask the customers what they actually wanted to have between butter or margarine, and which one they liked best. Maybe they didn't finish the food and left the restaurant in a hurry without paying attention to the elements of the food. If the aforementioned notions are valid, then argument is significantly incomplete.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed argument that leads to the prediction that profit will increase by adopting the finacially efficient method of extending the use of margarine instead of butter in the Happy Pancake House restaurants.