The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

A memorandum from the business manager from Happy Pancake House restaurants has stated proposed a thought that the customers cannot distinguish between the butter or they use the term 'butter' for either butter or margarine. This is based on the observation from Happy Pancake restaurants from the southeastern United States. Where they haven't noticed a major impact on the customers by switching from butter to margarine. They believe that customers like margarine more than butter as only around 2 per cent of customers have complained about the switch and many servers have noticed that customers have not complained where they were served margarine instead of butter when ordered. We can accept the observation of the manager if it can possibly answer the following three questions.

Firstly, they conclusion is based alone from the observation from restaurants of southeastern United States alone and it has neglected the possible observation form other regions. This raises they possibility that is customers from other regions are not happy with the switch form butter to margarine. Even the restaurant might have a global footprint which means that it must consider the feedbacks from customers from different countries as well. If the above-mentioned point is true, in that case it cannot to concluded that the customers are happy, or they cannot distinguish between the butter and margarine.

Secondly, the observation shows that only 2 per cent of the customers have complained about the switch from butter to margarine and it's assumed that 98 per cent of the other customers are happy. But this assumption is questionable. There is a possibility that the customers from rest of the 98 per cent are not happy with the change as well and they have just not complained because of possibly many reasons like, they customers might have tried it as an experiment and disliked it, they may have not complained thinking that their good old favourite butter will be back next time or there may not be any butter left in the restaurant. If above reasons are considered true than it rejects the conclusion of the manager of Happy Pancake restaurants.

Lastly, they conclusion also depends on the observation of the server, who have noticed that customers didn't complain when they were served margarine instead of butter. But again, this assumption is flawed as there is a chance that if a customer asked for a feedback might suggest that butter was better than the margarine. Or customers might be hesitant about complaining about such a small change in the menu. If the above reasoning is considered correct, then the weaken the conclusion that is posited by the manager about the customers.

Based on the above unanswered question, we can say that the conclusion of the manager is flawed and it cannot be concluded that customer cannot distinguish between butter and margarine or the user the term 'butter' for wither butter or margarine.