Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Humans are a part of an ecosystem which also includes the other wildlife and in the absence of one or the other, the balance is disturbed. Prompt proposes a policy to preserve any remaining areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gains. I strongly agree with the proposed policy as it is important for both mankind and the planet on which we reside, for the following three reasons.

Firstly, the current generation has witnessed the extinction of many species of animals and plants because of our selfish desire to make get the advantage of the other resources available to us at the cost of other wildlife. A few years ago, white elephants of Africa were eye-pleasing animals to look at now they can only be found at the museum. If we don't stop exploiting the wildlife and its resources then it's not long enough when we must take our next generation to the museum to show them the extinct species, which could have been present in their natural habitat without human intervention.

Secondly, the economic gains at the cost of wildlife don't seem like a good gamble as nations tourism will be adversely affected by the disappearance of wildlife from the country. We can see that nation like Bhutan which is a famous tourist hotspot for their evergreen forests and wildlife and tourism is one of the major sources of income of Bhutan. If a country like Bhutan can boost its economy with the help of wildlife, then it doesn't seem advisable to look for other source income to boost the country’s economy at the cost of the tourism industry which is heavily dependent on wildlife preservation.

Lastly, nature tends to return the humans their favour both good and bad. If humans destroy wild for their own good and profit, then in the absence of the wildlife the balance in the ecosystem is disturbed and it leads to a major issue. Like, in the absence of vast green forest the wildlife will find its way into the human establishments. Every day, we read news about the wild animals like lions and tigers entering the villages for food where they tend to attack humans and their cattle leading to loss of lives.

People may say that economic growth is good for the nation and should be prioritized over the wildlife as they don't see the benefits of having the proper balance. But one should not forget that wildlife boosts tourism and helps maintains the balance in the ecosystem. Thus, based on the above points we can say that it's good to have the policy to conserve the wildlife as such without looking for economic gain by destroying them.