The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We have always come across the name of famous people or the people consider to be successful, they have one thing in common, they all did hard work and struggled a lot to be at the place or point in their life where people start calling them successful. But there is one more critical feature common among most of them, they all were away from most of the worldly luxuries and conveniences. The prompt posits the thought that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into true strong and independent individuals. I strongly agree with the thought because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, people who are exposed to hardship from the childhood tent to realize the bitter reality of the life. Thus, they are better prepared than those who are always pampered with luxuries and services. For example, we all know the rocket man of India Mr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam. He is ex-president and a famous scientist and has work a lot harder than we can imagine in his childhood to support himself and his family. He used to study under the streetlight of the railway station every evening and in morning he used to help his father in work to earn money. Even in such a hardship, he managed to complete his studies and became a scientist and then the president of India. Now, on contrary, if we take a person who had all the luxuries and services to complete his needs then he shall never break his shell and will always be unprepared for what the future might hold for him. He shall not have the experience of how to deal with the real-life problems and thus, he might not have the calmness and frame of mind to handle the problems when left alone in the society. This suggests that a person's strong character is built by the hardship and struggle he has faced and not by the luxuries and conveniences which spoils him rotten.

Secondly, People who are devoid of the luxuries are conveniences are better able to understand the real needs and requirements of the life and thus, they can manage their life better than the individual who has never seen and struggle in life. For example, Ram Jaitmalany his father late Rammohan made a fortune by textile business while his son was unable to maintain the fortune passed down to him by his father. They reason was his father had struggled a lot and had experience about the market and understood the people better then him as he only did his MBA and started to look after their textile business. Thus, we can say that luxuries don't make a strong individual.

Some people may say that these luxuries and convenience don't hinder the process of building a strong moral character of person but, they tend to forgot that a person with the knowledge is as week as a man without a weapon in a forest of wild animals and is more prone to cheat and troubles then others. Simply, putting it can be accepted that the luxuries and convenience don't help build strong and independent individuals.