The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Business manager of a listener-supported public radio station has presented recommondations to get back its listner by discontinuing of Latino and world music and restoring radio format to previous level by broadcasting only American folk music. The author has structured his argumment on some stated and unstated assumptions, those are not substantiated and making the argument vague.

First, the arguar has not mentioned that what were the reasons because of which the radio broadcast format was changed. There would be some solid grounds on which Radio decided to allot more time to foreign music. It is possible that at that time, some survey was conducted showing that people were in favor to listen foreign music. So in that case, change in broadcast pattern will severly affect its listeners who want to listen both music types.

Secondly, the author has not stated that how many number of complaints have be launched against the current format. It is plausible that only few listners have not liked the new broadcasting style.

Thirdly, the manager has not conducted any survey to reach the reality, whether in real sensce people want to listen only traditional music. IN the absence of any solid proof, it might be determintal for radio to change its broadcast format.

And lastly, the arguar has mentioned that local newspaper has published an editorial against shifting in broadcast pattern. It might be possible that editor of the local news paper is some stubborn arthodex, who does not like change. The author has overlooked the indifferent response of other local news papers. It might be possible that complaining newspaper has some personal grudge with the radio channel, so he is trying to scold it.

Hence, in the present of above unexplaind question, the recommondation of Manager will not stand to be cogent, and if implemented, may yield unwarranted results. A careful analysis of the various underlying issues should be taken into account to facilitate a stronger argument.