The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical to our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To broaden the supporter base Air program has more time to Latino music and world music and less time to conventional American folk music; in recent months, however, many long-term advocates of their station have complained about shift their program; also, the local newspaper has published a editorial critical to the shift of their program Due to these reasons they decided to stop the current program and restore the time to traditional music. Although the complain of long-term supporters and local news paper was true, they are too quick to discontinue their program; they faild to analyze the many aspects of the program. They assumes unwarranted assumptions regarding this evidence so the argument is dubious.

First of fall, they assume that there will be adversere publicity of their program for sure. It may be true that they may face adverse situation however their assumption is unwarranted because they have missed to analyze from other sides the conclusion is questionable. For example, supporters might warn them to increase ratio of traditonal American Music to Latino music and world music but Folk on Air program assumes differently. This assumption leads the argument dubitable.

Secondly They assume they will loss additional-supprters. While it may be true that they might loss few pervious supporter, they now gain new supporters of Latino music and world music and their program might gain new height. For example, the Latino and world music lovers may listen their program so much they might gain huge supporters. They failed to assume like this so there is question in validity of this argument.

The fallacy mentions above shows that the Folk of Air program fails to analyze different aspect of the situation so the argument is doubtabll. They need to assume that they might gain supporter, reach another level of success.