"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station gave some suggestions, appeared in a memorandum that radio should change its formate according to the taste of local listener. He has drawn this conclusion on the basis of some assumptions. However, if these assumptions are not substantiated, then would seriously weaken the argument.

First, the author has supposed that popuplation of the area has increase because of shifting of people here after retirement. There is no supported evidence for the shifting and the increase in the number of the residents. So, the author suggestes that radio should convert its program according to the taste of new residents, but has not provided any evidence, what new comers like the most.

Secondly, the author suggests that, radio should convert from rock-music format to the format liked by the new resident than, he himself denyed his suggestion by explaing that the sale of recorded music has decline recently showing that the new comers are not found of music. Here, again no statistical evidence is presented to coorelate the sale of music to the taste of people. It might be possible, people are listening music form pyrated version and share with each other through there cell phones. In this case, there is no need for people to puchase music form shops.

Third assumption on which the argument is based is that, the radio should convert to news and talk show format. However, this assumption again is unsubstantiated because, there is no evidence of type of listener radio has. And the youth, genrally is indifferent to the news and talk show, so it might cause a greater decrease in clintage.

Hence, it can be infered that the argument is flawed due to its reliance on unwrranted assumptions. To accept this argument, above mentioned areas should be addressed. The author can bring more persuative evidences to convince the reader about change in radio format.