The following report appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors.

"A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors suggesting that with the establishment of a dance programs at GoldenAge senior residences would help to eliminate the dementia in senior. The arguer has constructed his argument on the basis of results of 21 year long study. At first glance, the argument seems acceptable however, close examination unveil many fallacies and loop holes, making the argument vague.

First, the arguer has not mentioned the country or state where the study was conducted. He has supposed that people of whole world are facing same problem of dementia. The author has not considered the total number of senior citizens who are suffering form this disease. It is plausible that, there are only few people in the area who are affected by this disease.

Secondly, the study has not shown that, how many people were studied and how many were cured after dancing. Their might be some other underlying reasons of reduction or elimination of dementia those are not stated.

Thirdly, The arguer assumes that movement of senior residents from their independent living apartments to assisted living quarters is due to the emergence of this disease in them. However, he has not provided any evidence that whether, senior residents are moving because of disease or there is some other problem. It might be possible that senior residents are sick of isolation and they want to stay in some place where there are many people around them. It is also plausible that they are running short of funds to run their independent residence smoothly, or because of some physical weakness they are unable to perform their own tasks.

So, the author has given the recommendation of establishment of dance studio at GoldenAge to avoid the movement of senior residents to the place that might be cost-effective for the residents. Therefore, it can be inferred that the given argument is several unstated unsubstantiated assumption and an overall lack in logical reasoning and rationality. This insular argument stands on unproved hypothesis, and is rife with glitches.