Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to

agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty

member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful

than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges

and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code

and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely

monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of

thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in

place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this

figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of

Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor

code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations

that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your

explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument promotes the effectiveness of the academic honor codes system given that the number of students cheating is decreased than before when old fashioned observation by professors was exist. The argument has provided few evidence in the explanation before taking the position but there may be other many explanations of decreasing the number of reported students who cheat in the exam.

One alternative explanation may be the students are as less likely to report as are professors so number of reports of cheating has decreased. Students are focused and busy to write the answer of their own paper so they may not recognize their peers who are cheating. For instance, their peers may be cheating my different means which cannot be identified by them; if they cannot recognize the number of peers cheating, obviously the number of reports would be decreased. So, the evidence presented in the argument is not sufficient to take the position that number of reports declined after the implementation of the academic honor code.

Another alternative explanation would be the university might have increased the severity of consequences from the cheating. If the university is strict in their rules and regulation for those who cheat in the exam, students might frighten to cheat. For example, students might have the fear of failure or expel if they cheat in the exam due to such fear in students the number of reports of cheating might decline. The argument mentioned about the survey that majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Alternatively, the survey may not be reliable if the survey was to taken in honest group of students obviously they deny cheating and this clearly shows number of decrease in students.

Last but not the least alternative explanation regarding the argument is the exam pattern might be different than old exam pattern; if professors have modified the exam pattern focusing on knowledge measurement, students can not cheat so that number of reports might be decreased. For instance, professor may remove the pressure of getting perfect score to pass or timed based exam to pass the exam, students can freely write and they need not to cheat this may be the reason of decreasing the number of reports.

Due to all the mentioned possible alternative explanations the evidence to take position might not be sufficient. These alternative explanations plausibly account for the enough evidence to take position that the number of reports has decreased.