The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

In the memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station, it is recommended that instead of putting emphasis on latino and world music, the radio station should broadcast traditional american folk music in order to avoid the loss of additional listener supporters. Numerous written complain from long-term supporters and a critical editorial published in the local newspaper prompted the manager to advise this recommendation. The notion of reducing Latino and world music and increasing American folk music requires further evidences and less fallacious arguments provided in the memorandum.

Firstly, the manager fails to provide the accurate statistical data of the long-term supporters who have filed a complain about the un-American bias of the program. For example, the number of long-term supporters could be five hundred, whereas, due to the shift in the broadcasted music genre, popularity of the station might be increased by over a thousand listeners. Thus, heeding to complaints of this long term supporters might even cause the station more supporters. Due to the public station being a listener-supported public radio station, the emphasis should be on increasing the amount of supporters instead of looking to keep things unchanged due to some complaints.

Secondly, the information about the local newspaper report which is critical about the shift in the programming of the radio station is rife with holes and assumptions. Without providing proper evidence the author assumes that the article is supporting traditional music and criticizing Latino and world music. The article might be criticizing the timing of the program or they may be claiming that the RJ (rocket jockey) is not skilled enough to keep the listeners entertained. The article might be complaining about the lack of weather information and local news. Without answering the question, what is the nature of the complain in the article, the notion of stopping Latino and world music is errornous.

Finally, the argument does not provide evidence of listener support analysis relating to the listeners. Without a time-based analysis of listeners preference and support, the conclusion can not hold water. Fro example. it might happen that the local listeners tune in to listen to the radio after afternoon. where as somewhere in the world other listeners tune in the morning and late night for listening. For this reason, the radio station opting to broadcast traditional music in the afternoon and non-traditional musics in the morning and nighttime. This mixed and moderated broadcasting system might be beneficial as both types of listeners will be appeased. Thus, the managers recommendation of fully ceasing non-American music is fallacious.

In conclusion, without bringing in light the evidences or circumstances stated above, it is not wise to follow the recommendation of the manager given in this argument. Before the recommendation is implemented, all the questions should be answered and circumstantial evidences should be followed by the answers to concretize the conclusion.