The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion at the first glance might seem correct but it has serious flaws which need to be addressed if such a statement needs to be considered at all. The business manager seems to have taken a survey and deliver a conclusion from a very vague analysis which should not stand in the boardroom discussion of the public radio station.

Speaking about analysis, the business manager mentions the time spent in the American folk music is lesser compared to the Latino and world music genres, which lacks details such as number of hours difference, number of people listening etc. To make this statement stand on its feet, it should be necesssary to dive into the actual statistcics of the data. It could have been a case where hours of American music was being played in the most busy time of the day in the program. The direct correlation between number of hours to declivity of the fan base seems errant.

Secondly, the business manager mentions a critc report from "recent" months from "many" long-term supporters. Such a statement cannot provide any insight to an actual critc that companies should get. If recent could have implied for a single month and many would imply 20 similar minded people and not an extended pool of critics, the assertion can have no support. The un-American bias along with this also hampers the assertion as no incisive nature of this word has been mentioned. If the program plays music of the same type but American folk adds few patriotic works and jingoists did listen to them and reviewed, the statement does not add any value to the conclusion attained.

Adding to the argument of improper sample space, the credibilty of the local news paper warrants my incredulity. If the article is written by one of the "many" long-term suppoters that the business manager mentions, the flawed statement cannot be used for arriving at a concluison. Also, the paper could also be a review-supported low reach newspaper which can be highly critcized for its smaller pool of study. The paper might fawn a certain sector of people holding particular views regarding the music being aired by the station.

Lastly, the business manager wants to forestall an adverse publicity but does no research upon the actual implementation of this idea through number crunching. The proposal does not incorporate the survey that renders adverse publicity. The company seems to cater to many wants as they did play three different genres of music and nothing supports the manager's statement regarding the loss of publicity except certain arbitrary views and articles which have yet to be verified. If the company decides to continue with the current program, the loss of additonal supporters which the manager mentions has no statistical backing. There is also a possibilty in the last sentence itself which says that their could be a net increase in total supporters as well.

In conclusion, I would like to state that the conclusion seems to precipitated without mathematical research being done. Lack of sheer numbers and reviews from unverified sources seem to cloud the business manager's thought process and fixate on a hasty correlation between loss of listeners to amount of time given to American music in comparison to the Latino and world music.