Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the argument of the Madagascan shrimp becoming an endangered species is alarming, the analytics and evidences the author provided is rife with holes and assumptions. It is not easy to conclude that the shrimp will become endangered just because fishermen will continue the incursions. The general knowledge of the ecosystem does not agree with the conclusion driven by the author.

First of all, the author fails to provide significant statistical data about the severity of the incursions of the fisherman into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp. Without proper and enough data to back up the conclusion of significant reduction, the author simply states that the reduction will be greater than the rate of breeding. More discrepancy in logic can be found, if we take into account that there is nothing mentioned in the argument about the profit or the advantage that will persuade the deep-sea fishermen to continue the trend of fishing out the shrimps.

Additionally, the argument implies that the trend of incursions will continue without providing proper data about the popularity of these shrimps. For all we can assume, the profit can plummet and the fishermen might lose interest in the incursions. Madagaskar might be subjected to unfortunate climate changes, the shrimp habitat might be displaced due to that reason.So author needs to justify the reasons for continued fishing for shrimps in the area. Also, there needs to be a justification as why this rate of fishing will beat the rate of population rise of the shrimps.

The argument lacks enough evidence to come into conclusion that the population of the shrimps will not return to levels before fishing boat arrived. Scientific studies can be done to increase the breeding capability of these shrimps by providing proper catalysts.

In conclusion, without proper evidence and scrutinization, the conclusion provided is not strong enough to indicate a ban on fishing shrimps. Other scientific steps can be taken that can be beneficial to both the fishermen and the species. However, the argument does not provide the proper explanation to come into conclusion that Madagascan shrimp will quickly become and endangered species.