Some people want government to spend money on searching for life on other planets However others think it is a waste of public money when the earth has so many problems Discuss these two views and give your own opinion

There is a debate whether government should spend financial expenditure on searching for life in the universe, in which some individuals believe it is a must while others argues that it is a waste instead.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to search for extraterrestrial life. First, human beings are naturally curious, and it is through this curiosity that we have accomplished incredible feats. In the past time, the technology of boosting agricultural productivity was invented when we struggled with hunger. We can expect there will be more and more scientific discoveries if we continue to make efforts to explore the universe. Second, only government have the ability to carry out the duty of searching for life with the tax revenue given that it is impossible for companies to have the willingness to do it because of the bankruptcy risk.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why it is viewed as a waste by certain people. First, there are more pressing development issue which demand the urgent treatment of government. For instance, a lot of people are battling to improve their life standards given that the agricultural productivity there could only let them live and they lack extra fund to invest more in material capital or human capital. Second, there will be a huge opportunity cost for the searching activity due to the limited resources of government, which is exacerbated if the activity is not successful. The searching activity may crowd out the potential expenditure on other project and slow down the rate of society’s construction.

From my perspective, I think the government should balance the issues between the universe and reality to ensure the urgent development concerns could be addressed as a priority.