'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The memorandum of the business manager seems to be convincing against the increased coverage of national news and lesser time being devoted to weather and local news. But there are many aspects which have not been mentioned clearly and cast doubt upon the decision to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level.

While addressing the viewers' complaints is the right thing to do for the news station, it has not been mentioned about what led to this change of increased time alloted to national news. It may be the case that prior to this change, there were much more number of complaints urging the channel to focus more on national news instead of local news.

Secondly, the memorandum mentions the increase in the number of local business advertising contracts being cancelled post the switch to national news. But there is no mention about impact of this change upon the advertising contracts of major businesses that operate across the nation. While losing local business advertising contracts will surely have adverse effects on revenues, but it maybe the case that the revenues have actually increased due to the canvassing of bigger contracts from nationally and internationally operating businesses.

Most of the complaints are concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. It is nowhere mentioned whether the concern is about the time or the content. Maybe rather than increasing the local news' time, enhancing the content would help.

There is no mention of the reason why local businesses have canceled their contracts with the station. It maybe the reason that they are not happy with the content of the local news being shown rather than the time being devoted to it. A mention of the same would have made the picture more clear.

Also, the memorandum highlights only the decreasing popularity of the television station among the local viewers. But there is no record of the overall increase or decrease in the viewers of the station at national or international level.

The presence of abovesaid evidences would have made the picture more clear that whether switching back to giving more coverage to local news and weather will actually benefit the station more or the present case is is in the best interests of the television station with increased number of viewers and advertising contracts.