The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the last year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers o the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

As per the argument, if television station wants to increase the advertising revenue, they need to restore the time devoted to weather and local news from its previous level. There are various reasons mentioned for this in the argument like viewers are complaining about the coverage of weather and local news, and local businesses are no longer want to associate with advertising during late-night news programs. However, there are various flaws in the argument which business manager of a television station fails to consider.

First of all, argument describes that the main purpose of restoring coverage to weather and local news in late-night news is viewers complaining about less time to weather and local news. But, it failed provide the statistical data about how many viewers have reduced since less coverage of weather and local news. Secondly, argument fails to provide evidence which section of viewers are complaining about the less coverage of weather and local news. It can't generalize for all the viewers. There is a possibility that other viewers from different age group are increased due to increase time to national news and less time to weather and local news.

Last but not the least, there is no linkage between the statement which provide the evidence that local businesses have canceled their advertising contract because of complaints from viewers about less coverage time to weather and local news. There could be various reasons that local businesses want to cut down their contract, like local businesses might not be getting profit from the advertising in the late-night news program or they are not in market anymore.

In final analysis, argument looks tempting that it considers the various parameters before restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. But as discussed in previous paragraphs, lack of evidence in the argument failed to provide the proper statistics about overall viewers watching late-night news program. Also, it failed to provide evidence about national businesses who might be interested in the advertising contract with late-night program because of late-night program's increased time to national levels. So it should considers all the statistics before making any informed decision.