The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented illustrates a relationship among time devoted to weather and local news, viewer feedback, and advertisers. While a correlation does exist among the three, correlation does not equal causation. To establish a causal relationship, there needs to exist statistically significant data such as a graph and/or table that either supports the argument that the time decrease in local news and weather is causing advertisers to abandon the news program or contradicts the argument.

A piece of evidence needed to make the argument stronger is a graph that covers the amount of contract cancellations regarding advertising that occurred to the late-night news program over the past 5 to 10 years. The years before this one will serve as the control and the number of advertisers that were lost across that time period would be compared to this year's loss of advertisers. Once the data is collected and plotted on a line or bar graph, a t-test could be performed to determine if the loss of advertisers this year is significantly lower than those of the past. If the data shows statistical significance, then it would confirm that the loss of advertisers this year was as a result of the decreased time given to weather and local news. This would then support the idea that restoring time back to those segments would prevent advertisers from forgoing their contracts with the late-night news program.

Another piece of evidence that would be helpful to the argument would be a table indicating how many of the complaining viewers are local business owners. If the number of viewers who complained is largely composed of owners of local businesses, then that could be used as evidence to establish a causal relationship between less local news and weather time and the amount of advertisers cancelling their contracts. However, if the number of complaining viewers is lacking local business owners then this data would neither help nor hinder the argument.

In conclusion, a graph and table that quantify the data of advertising contracts being cancelled and the amount of complaining local business owners would help support the argument that in order to attract more viewers and prevent losing more advertisers, the restoration of time to the local news and weather segments is necessary.