The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As much as we would like to think that everyone on the planet works together in a benevolent fashion, the reality is that in order to obtain leadership positions, young people must be competitive with one another. Cooperation is essential for the success of society and humanity as a whole but that alone will not give young people the "edge" for deserving positions in leadership. Colleges and universities ensure that young people who are competitive with one another are more selected for than those who are passively cooperative. That is not even mentioning how the world of politics work, with many politicians employing harsh tactics to gain notoriety and powerful positions. Although both qualities are essential for a person to be successful in society, competition has to be instilled more than cooperation.

High end colleges in this era, such as Ivy League institutions, require young applicants to be incredibly competitive in order to gain admittance into the university. Private post-secondary institutions are the most sought after schools for young people wishing to venture in the world of academia further and acquire skills to hold leadership positions in their dream careers. unfortunately, these private universities require high GPAs, SAT/ACT scores, and a wide background in extracurricular services. Unless students undertake a competitive path to obtain the needed credentials, then they can no longer hope for admittance into those institutions. Young people have to strive to be successful and become better than their peers so they can stand out and matriculate into well respected schools. The same can be stated for those wishing to attend medical school and graduate school, as those acceptance rates tend to be lower than the average undergraduate admittance rate.

Outside of acquiring a post-secondary education is the "real world" where people who perform their job better than their coworkers obtain higher positions of power and leadership. For example, at Muhlenberg College, an undergraduate liberal arts college, students in the sciences can work in the research labs of the school's faculty. If one of those students stands out (i.e. helps get more papers published and contributes ideas to the lab) then they would be promoted to head research assistant which gives several leadership capabilities to that student. Another example is the world of politics. While cooperation can be value in that world, competition is at the heart of politics, with politicians doing what it takes to be noticed by their constituents and peers.

Cooperation is an attribute that can help accomplish tasks, but cannot lead to positions in leadership. The need for two or more people in the same leadership position can understandably cause a fair amount of chaos within an organization. This is why the US has three branches of government and one person being President. If there were two presidents, nothing would get accomplished due to the sheer amount of time it would take for the two leaders to agree. This is also why its rare to see co-CEOs in companies, it fails to accomplish anything.

In conclusion, instilling a sense of cooperation in lieu of competition is detrimental for a society to prepare its young citizens for various leadership positions. Competition inspires young people to succeed and strive to be better than what they currently are. If competition is not instilled, then people will not know to improve because they will just have someone else helping them finish a job.