The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In a multitude of fictitious literature, the setting may consist of a Utopian society were everything is assumed to be perfect. However, like I mentioned, those societies are a product of an author’s imagination and cannot exist. Yet, it is possible for society to improve but in order to do so the figureheads of the society need to have their attention focused onto society’s faults. To accomplish such a feat, the denizens of a society must challenge the authority that reigns over it. Examples of two well-established nations will be looked at to demonstrate how challenging authority can impact society for the better.

In our own history, the American Revolution provides a strong example of how the citizens of the oppressed British-controlled American colonies challenged Britain’s authority and established a society that is superior. Through intense taxation and the disregard for the people residing within the colonies, the society created by the British in those colonies was bound to crumble due to the inequality of respect being shared between the King and the colonists. The acts of rebellion, such as the Boston Tea Party, is a textbook example of challenging authority and informing the King that the way he runs society would not do in what would become the US. So, to create a better society, the Founding Fathers took it upon themselves to declare independence from GB and succeeded in creating a nation that many travel to today to grasp freedom and accomplish their dreams. In America we can protest laws and actions that we do not favor and inspire societal change via our freedom of speech. We can challenge authority without facing extreme levels of punishments like death.

In contrast, North Korea is an example in which society looks prosperous from the inside of the nation, but from the outside looks like a horrid dictatorship. In North Korea, the penalties for speaking out against the government, and therefore the society of North Korea, include public humiliation and death. Those penalties prevent the majority of the population from speaking out against their leader, Kim Jung Un. Thanks to the advent of video cameras and the filming technique known as “vlogging”, individuals, if careful, can show the rest of the world the life of North Korea. While those who have a high socioeconomic status appear cheerful and happy to reside within the country, the films depict a censored world where history is rewritten. This approach to controlling society prevents those native to North Korea from being able to interact with the rest of the world at a high level due to the false backgrounds provided from the citizens’ home country. Stories of internment camps also provide evidence that controlling a society through fear and preventing the outcry of others will hurt the society of a nation to a large extent. A small number of countries support North Korea and many countries are against North Korea because of its hands-on approach to societal control which makes it unable to join the greater society created by the rest of the nations.

In conclusion, the betterment of society can occur if authority is challenged. The success of the US and its ability for its citizens to speak out against the government allow for the country to adapt and its society to improve; whereas, the inability to speak out in North Korea hinders any societal improvement.