The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten.Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation given by the board of directors of Monarch Books insists on the creation of a cafe within its store to garner more customers and will accomplish this task by ridding the store of the children's book section. The evidence cited that give reason for the cafe's creation is that the population percentage of individuals under the age of 10 has decreased and to become a better competitor against Regal Books. In order to determine the possible effectiveness of the recommendation, three questions must be addressed.

First of all, are all the children who visit the Monarch Books store of the area? In other words, is there a large number of children and parents who have come to the area via tourism and been to the children's section of the store? The author made the premature assumption that since the census figures indicate a decline in the population of those under the age of 10, the children's section of the store will become unpopular. Perhaps, a plethora of parents enter the children's section to purchase reading material for their own children as presents for a holiday or birthday and taking that section away may result in parents taking their business to Regal Books instead. also, it is possible that a fair amount of children who fancy the children's section of the store are visiting the area and hoping to collect a book for their travels back home and a lack of such a section in the future may result in a similar fashion to the example mentioned prior. if the above examples prove true, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, will the cafe be unique when compared to the cafe at Regal Books? Another assumption made by the board of directors is that the cafe will be able to compete with the cafe of their competitors. it is possible that the cafe installed in the store may fail to appeal to its customers and may result in said customers to retreat to Regal Books and/or never return to Monarch. furthermore, if the cafe is indistinguishable from its competition, then it is likely that customers will seek Regal Books based on its location or other factors that make it stand out from Monarch. The argument provided by monarch would be significantly worsened if the scenarios mentioned above prove valid.

Thirdly, do the current customers of Monarch Books desire a cafe? The author of the argument assumes that the people who wish to enter the bookstore also want to dine there as well. In the argument, it is stated that monarch books is well-established due to its "wide selection of books on all subjects". One of those sections is the children's section, which as already mentioned, may still remain popular. Maybe if money is spent implementing a cafe rather than acquiring more books, the business of the store may decline due to lack of new novels. The soundness of the argument could decrease if the stated example becomes a reality.

In conclusion, there exists several flaws in the argument made by Monarch Books regarding the implementation of a cafe. if the questions mentioned throughout the essay are addressed then it is possible for the argument to be sound.