The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

While it might make sense to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing further advertising revenues, there are some evidences that need to be addressed in order to evaluate the argument.

It is possible that a new television station has come up in the previous year and it airs programmes with a high quality location specific content which has attracted a lot of viewers. Additionally, to attract advertisers, it might have kept the cost of advertising low. This might explain why the local businesses would want to sign advertising contracts with this new television station. If this is indeed the case, then just increasing the time devoted to weather and local news will neither attract more viewers nor would it stop the local businesses to cancel their advertising contracts. A better way to handle the problem would be to reduce the rates of advertising to a competent level.

The present status of the society's economy can also be a reason for the businesses to cancel their contracts. If the society is going through a period of recession, then the businesses would understandably find ways to cut their costs and could therefore cancel the advertising contracts. They would rather try to find an alternative cheaper mode of advertising. Such a case, if true, will undermine the conclusion of the business manager of the television station.

Further, more details about the complaints are required. It might be that the complaints are about the deterioration in the quality of the weather and local news, and not about the quantity of such a program. The remedy then would be to improve the content rather than just increase the time of a mediocre program.

In conclusion, there are some evidences that might undermine the business manager's conclusion that devoting more time to weather and local news will restore the way the television station was performing in the past.