The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Cooperation and competition, though being the opposite sides of a coin, are both required for an organization to grow. While it is true that cooperation is necessary for any organization to thrive, the claim presented suggests completely removing competition from the field, which is too extreme.

First question that would arise is how would a leader be selected? The person who is the most competent should be the leader if organization wants to progress. If we remove competition from the equation, the flair to be the best of the best among the prospective candidates is reduced, if not banished. For instance, in football, the captain is generally the smartest and the most vocal player who can not only read the game but also direct other teammates. Football being a team game is definitely needs a lot of cooperation among the teammates, but there should be a competition on who should be appointed as the captain of the team.

Another conundrum in ignoring competition would be to ensure that every member in an organization is actively participating. If there is no competition, some people might just slack off thinking that one person not participating will not affect anything. They will think that since there is no competition among the members someone or the other will do the job. To shed some light on this point, I would like to put forth the concept of a group project where all the members of a particular team get the same marks. It will most likely lead to some people just delegating their part of the work to the others.

Indeed, some organizations or fields might require complete cooperation and there is no competition. But such organizations generally originate because of like-minded people who want to do some good to the society. For example, a team that rescues the animals who are in trouble. Most probably, such teams are extant because people feel that it is their responsibility to help those animals. In such cases - which are quite rare - one might agree that cooperation is of more importance. But in the other fields, which are motivated by some material profits, competition is of utmost priority to ensure the burgeoning of the organization.

Consider an ideal case where all the members of an organization are cooperative and contribute to the development of the organization. Will such an organization where everyone contributes not thrive? It will most probably outperform all the other organizations where there is competition. Is it possible to have such organizations? The answer to this question lies in the human nature. It is human to try to be better than the peers. This will lead to an imbalance and ultimately lead to deviation from the ideal case.

In the end, cooperation though being one of the most important aspects of the well-being of an organization, cannot take the place of competition. These two have to work hand in hand for the organization to be prosperous.