A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college.

Enforcing a nation-wide curriculum can be a boon, but there are some provisions that need to be in place to ensure the smooth functioning of the entire system. All the students will be on the same page if such a nation-wide curriculum is enforced.

A national curriculum provides equal and fair opportunities for the development of all the students in the country. Every student on entering college will have undergone the same curriculum and hence would be roughly at par with the other fellow students. The education system will thrive when such equality is present. It comes down to how much a student has worked to develop himself/herself in comparision to the other students, and not on the fact that one student had more access to knowledge than the others.

Having the same curriculum would also mean more number of students studying the same thing. This results in making the community of students larger. This in turn, makes a lot of help, online or offline, easily available. A community where students help one another will definitely bolster the knowledge of the students. Peer based learning with some supervision can help the students a lot.

Teachers will also find it easier to adapt to different environments should they change the location where they teach. Also, training the teachers becomes a lot more easier since the curriculum is the same.

However, there has to be some concession while enforcing such a curriculum. Firstly, there will be students who might not be able to follow the curriculum due to a variety of reasons like some disability or personal circumstances. In such cases there has to be some toned down version of the curriculum so that these students can follow the curriculum. Also, there are certain subjects like History and Geography which include a lot of region specific topics. Such subjects therefore have to be different for different regions. A committee that sets a national curriculum might not be aware of some region and hence might not be able to do justice to such subjects. Curriculum of such subjects can be designed by a local committee and has to be different from one region to the other.

In conclusion, a nation-wide curriculum should be enforced keeping in mind that some changes have to be made depending on the region and also the abilities of different students.