The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

It might look like the advertising director's conclusion is accurate. However, there are various fallacies in the argument, which would need to be addressed in order to warrant the recommendation of the director.

The fact that less people are attending the Super Screen movies might indicate that only the die hard fans of the company are continuing to watch and enjoy their movies. This would result in a bias in the reviews since the reviews by fans will tend to be on the positive end of the spectrum. This does not mean, however, that the content of the movie is good. So it has to be seen that the movie reviewers are disinterested or just fans who will love anything related to Super Screen movies.

One more thing to note is that the argument states that the reviews of specific Super Screen movies are positive. It might be that a couple of Super Screen movies were actually good, but most of the movies failed to hit the mark. Reviews of all the Super Screen movies have to be considered before jumping to any conclusion. If majority of the Super Screen movies were enthralling and still the number of viewers declined, that would suggest that aggressive advertisement might solve the issue.

The viewership of the past year's Super Screen movies is compared to the other years. It is possible that a new movie production company came into picture recently and it released a lot of great movies, which people preferred more than the Super Screen movies. This would call into question the content of the Super Screen movies. It is possible that the content is good, but not as good as the other company's movies. Hence, the remedy would be to try to improve the content rather than vociferous advertising which might lead even more people to eschew the Super Screen movies.

One more possible explanation for the movies to have less viewership can be the presence of some event which occurs every 4 or 5 years, such as the olympics. It is possible that the release dates of the Super Screen movies clashed with such a huge event and as a result there was less viewership. This problem would require strategic release dates more than advertising, although the latter might help, but not as much.

Hence, there are many questions that need to be answered before justifying the recommendation of the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.