The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument believes that devoting time to weather and local news to its former level can avoid losing the advertising revenues.At first it seems the argument to be logical and after a careful scrutinity,it seems tocontains a lot of assumptions and loop holes in order to avoid the loss in advertising revenues.And also the assumption seems untenable and illogical with certain flaws in it.

Firstly, it suggests that devoted increase in national news and decrease in local and weather news made people to complain about thier station's coverage.This seems not plausible because there is no evidence in supporting the above statement.An well-known suvey or statistics could have made this claim more logical and cogent if their complains were surveyed.

Secondly, the argument assumes that because of decrease in local news and weather report and in turn which reduced it's viewers, made advertisers cancel their contracts with them.The reason may seem logical at first but,it's assumption is supported by any provable evidence.There might be reasons that, the advertisers may have contracted with other coverage because they were cheap and cost effective for them and also their interest might have matched with other coverages looking to flourish.

Finally, in turn because of these circumstances the bussiness manager of the television station tends to include their previous local news and weather report.This may be prove to false belief that, the people are still interested in them.There might be chances that viewers might have adapted to other channels because, they might be providing much interesting news and may be debate programs that are engaging people into their stations.It will be a good idea if the manager conducted surveys regarding people's interest and then implementing those can lead him for profits.

And just not telecasting the previous local news and weather reports, which viewers where interested earlier.

Recapitulating the above argument, it has lot of unjustifiable assumptions and flimsy evidences supporting the claim.And therefore, in order to get back into the track which they were earlier the above reasons should be included in the argument.And by conducting the surveys regarding their viewers might prove the argument to be cogent and feasible.