To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Human psychology is a mixture of varied perspectives,intriguing nature and complex thoughts and are so diversified,similarly is the society.It also follows the same hierarchy with multi-hued cultures,traditions,diversities,perspectives and various styles.Major characteristics of a society are based on major cities is what the author claims.I agree with the claim at the same time dont completely agree the claim for the following reasons presented below.

Society is nothing but the group of people living together with varied cultures,traditions,various interests and a vast variety of languages which are diversified,yet unified.Cities are the geo-political capitals of economy,administration,industries etc.They do form the backbone of the country's economy and the at same time represent the various cosmopolitan life,which is rich in various cultures.

At the same time the reason why we cannot rely on the claim is that suppose ,for example:in the countries like india nearly 70% of people live in the rural villages and towns,where economy ans globalization is not so great.In these cases there is no point in studying the characteristics vof the city as most of the people live in the rural areas.As these rural areas gives us the essence of the most of the history and culture

and tradition ,we will fail to view the characteristics of the society as a whole.

And also the developed country which fails to note the holistic development,be it the cities or the rural areas,villages is still considered as the incomplete and the developing nation.The major cities are also thriving in order to get the complete sense of society through the transforamation of various cultures and traditions through generations which are followed by the rural areas.However, it is important to consider the rural areas as they are part of our country and they are the ones which shows the heritage and tradition of a particular society.

Therefore in order to study the overall characteristics of a society,it is not only important to study the cities but at the same time important to take rural areas,villages into consideration as we all know that history and traditions comes from them.And for a society to thrive it aslo equally important to consider rural areas and villages.