The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of the station makes several incomplete claims in his request to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Without the right kind of evidence, his argument may not hold any water as will be shown in the following paragraphs.

Though the memorandum lists viewer complaints as a reason to reduce the time devoted ot weather and local news, it does not flesh out the contents of these complaints. The contents of these complaints could either strengthen or weaken the argument made by the business manager. On the one hand, should the complaints state that the program spends not enough time on weather and news, the station could further support its stance that a return its original formating is required. On the other hand, if the complaints are pertaining to issues such as a displeasing local news host or inacurate long term weather forecasts, a change in the program's content may be sufficent to lower the number of consumer complaints.

Secondly, the television station would need more evidence pertaining to the local businesses advertisement cancellations. It could be that to increase the time dedicated to national news, the station chose to spend less time airing advertisements which in turn led local businesses to pull their money. If they are no longer receiving the same level of service, it makes sense that they would want to cancel their contracts. This would support the argument that the loss in advertising revenue is due to the changes made, however it does not mean that the station needs to revert to its earlier format in order to gain back lost business.

To further study the problem, the station could send out a survey to its viewers asking what they think of the recent changes to the local news and weather. The results of this survey could be used to further support the arguments if the overall sentiment is negative toward the changes that were made. Alternatively, the results could show an overall positive reception to additional time spent on local news and weather. Such a scenario would severly weaken the case made by the business manager.

In closing, more details are required to establish if the increased air time to weather and local news are indeed the cause of viewer complaints as well as the local business contract cancellations. It is clear that without further evidence, the television station cannot make a well informed decision.