In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument stated above comes to the conclusion that Mason City shoud devote more money to riverside recreational facilities. This is due to the fact that the city is planning on cleaning up the Mason River so that it no longer receives complaints about the water quality or smell. While the conclusion is currently valid, the author forgot to consider two unwarrented assumptions that may have an impact on the number of recreational activities conducted on the river. The author seems to believe that water quality and smell are the only factors at play in the revitilization of the Mason River while more such as geographical and natrual factors may be at play.

First, the author assumes that the only reason people aren't utilizing the river is due to water quality and smell. How do we know that there are not a vast amount of other facts at play that are stopping residents from utilizing the river? Perhaps there is lake or river that is closer to the vast majority of residents, so they choose to perform their recreational activities there. It is known that individuals like to perform their favorite activities by driving the shortest amount of distance possible. Also, suppose that the Mason River is also home to a diverse amount of dangerous animals, such as piranhas and alligators. It would make sense for residents to perform their recreational activities at a safer lake or river. If we assume that these assumptions are correct, it significantly weakens the conclusion that more money should be devoted to Mason River recreational activites. The extra money would thus be wasted without the number of recreation water users increasing.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the geography of the Mason River is suitable for water sports to begin with. Disregarding water quality and smell, there are other factors that stop individuals from using certain water sources for recreation. Perhaps the Mason River is only composed of class five rapids that have been known to injure, or even kill people who attempt to white-water raft. Furthermore, this implies that the river is not safe to swim, boat or fish in as well. Also, the River may be hard to reach in the first place. If we assume that the river has high cliffs and no bridges, it is very unlikely that residents will be able to make their way into the river anyway. These hypotheticals illustrate the fact that geographical reasons may be a cause as to why residents are not using the Mason River for recreational activities. Assuming that these conditions are true, the argument to devote money to the river is thus weakened further. The increased water quality would not warrant more recreational activities as the river is now dangerous and impossible to get to.

In conclusion, the authors argument and conclusion that Mason City should spend more money on the Mason River is severely flawed. In order for the argument to become more viable, it is important to request more information. Perhaps through the work of a research, scientific or geographical study we can discover why people are not utilizing the river, whether it is due to location, wildlife or other factors. The obtainment of this information has the possibility of strengthing the conclusion that more money should be devoted to the river, as long as the catalyst issue is easily correctable.