A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The idea that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum has some merit. This would allow universities to reduce the number of introductory courses created for students lacking some of the basic education they are expected to have. However, this concept could never be implemented practically as children are not machines and each child requires differing levels of help as they develop.

One major advantage of a uniform national curriculum would be that all students are taught to the same level in all parts of the nation. This would allow a streamlining of courses taught accross the country and allow universities to rid themselves of introductory courses designed to bring students to the same level of knowledge. For example, as a student in university, my program included a mandatory introductory computing course. This course was challenging for those students that had never been taught to program in high scholl but it was an utter waste of time for those students who had even a rudimentary understanding of coding languages. In such situations, some students had received a fuller education than others.

This problem illustrates a mojor disadvantage of such program, it would have an inability to take into account the variations in resources across regions. Urban areas readily have access to museums, science centres and art exhibits that could be used to enrich the education of students within those zones. However, the same cannot be said of more rural areas. As a result, a national program would either need to be built around the resources available to the least advantaged student or the average student. In the former case, the program would be so rudimentery that advanced students and children of affluent families would not be challenged and likely to find other sources of education. In the latter case, a national program built to the average student would leave any child falling outside of the average either unfulfilled or challenged beyond their capabilities.

A national curriculum would not be able to account for all outside factors that influence a child's education and therefore leave many children behind. For example, students whose families have financial troubles may not be able to participate in a program that requires students to attend field trips and as a result the family would face undue financial strain in order to keep their child in the curriculum or simply have to face a situation where their child is unable to participate at the same level of their classmates.

In conclusion, though the concept of a single national curriculum could improve some aspects of education, its could never succeed as such a program cannot account for the variety of socioeconomic and external factors present in the different regions of a nation. Such a program would, by design, leave many students behind.