A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Today, it is common for countries to coerce a predetermined national curriculum onto all students. In fact, the United States of America teaches all of its students the same general math, reading and science courses such as geometry, reading composition and biology in order to graduate high school. While the issue of requiring all students to take a common curriculum is something I mostly agree with, it is too complex to definitevely agree for the following three reasons.

One rebuttal of opponents, would be that it does not allow for creative thinking. Do we want to instill in the future of our nation that there is only one singular way to think and solve problems? It is known that the most succesful people in the world are capable of thinking outside of the box and not confirming to traditonal ideas -- one's that are taught in school prior to college. For example, the electronic car company,Tesla, has been known to revolutionize the modern car industry. Tesla , by no stretch of imagination could have been created by traditional ideas taught in schools. Tesla has taken the car industry by storm, recieving thousands of pre-orders for cars that have not even been produced yet. The idea of thinking non-tradionally is something that is sought- after in today's society and is not currently taught in schools today.

Contrarily, a national curriculum helps form a standard of entry for incoming college applicants. In the United State of America, students are required to learn and be tested on the same material that the rest of the nation is. Furthermore, students use their knowledge to take standarized tests for undergraduate college admittance such as the SAT and ACT. It has been known that these tests are accurate in determine a students intellectual ability and are thus considered by college admissions. For example, in American society, GPA and standarized test scores (along with letters of reccomendation) are the most important aspects to a college application. A national curriculum helps to aid college institutions in their quest for finding talent.

Thirdly, studunts who are held to a common curriculum are more well-rounded than students with specializations. For example, the national "Math Counts" winner, Luke Robataiile, is homeschooled and does not partake in the national curriculum. It has been discovered that while Luke is extremely strong in mathematical and scientific applications, he severely struggles with reading comprehensions, history and art. In order to function in today's society, it is imperative to be well-versed in all subjects rather than a specifc few. To illustrate, a math professor needs to be able to understand literature and exhibit public speaking rather than just perform math. A professors job is to publish papers and give talks. While a specialized education will increase your intelligence in specific areas, it does not correlate to a well-rounded individual.

In conclusion, nearly all nations of the world hold a common curriculum for their students -- either for their benefit or for the nations. Many individuals believe that it inhibits creative thinking in students and leads to stagnant national growth. Contrarily, it has been known to be a solid indicator for college applications as well as becoming a well-rounded individual. The ideas and issues behind the administering a common curriculum for every student in a nation is far too complex to be given a simple verdict.