The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The authors' argument that decreased coverage of weather and local news has led to a decline in viewership and loss of advertising contracts is flawed. In the argument, the author not only draws the conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms, but also uses data from an unknown sample to make a generalization about an entire population. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of correlating decreased coverage of weather and local news directly to lack of advertisers without any evidence connection them.

To begin with, the first argument of the author is that most of the complaints received were about station's coverage of weather and local news. But, the author does not offer how many complaints were received, or what exactly was the nature of the complaints. Were the complaints really about the lack of local news and weather reports or simply that the quality of coverage was not good? Also, how many complaints were actually received? If only 5 people out of a 1000 complained, then is that really a cause for concern? The author needs to offer conclusive data about how many people complained, whether it was more than earlier and whether the complaints actually about the lack of local news and weather reports. Only then he can he reach his stated conclusion.

Secondly, the author mistakenly directly correlated the change in late-night news program's news coverage to the cancellation of advertising contracts without any proof. They may have simply cancelled because they didn't need the ads anymore or their businesses went into loss. The author needs to offer concrete proof that the local businesses cancelled their contracts because the channel's idea of prioritizing national news over local led to a loss in local viewership and change in demographics of viewers which negatively affected their business campaigns.

To conclude, while the author maybe correct in stating that decrease in local news and weather coverage led to a loss of viewers and advertising revenue, but he needs to give proof to strengthen his argument. Until then, this is just mere conjecture on his part.