Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

The issue of whether knowledge of our past can help us make decisions today or is it a waste of our time is a contentious one. While each side has its strength and weaknesses, I believe that we should be aware of our past because it can help us in not repeating the same mistakes again. Moreover, everything in nature is a cycle and past events can help us predict future events.

First, knowing our past can help us in evading our previous mistakes. For example, in Germany, children are taught in school the atrocities their ancestors committed against the Jews. It serves as a reminder and lesson to them that such deeds should never be repeated.

Second, learning about past events can help us in predicting the future. For example, meteorologists work on discovering past natural events to learn weather patterns from them and use the same knowledge to predict the weather.

Some may argue that the past is irrelevant now and what mattered earlier has no significance in present day. For example, up till a century before, women were not allowed to vote but today this thought wouldn’t even cross anyone’s mind. So, how would learning about women of that era and their struggle matter today? The answer is simple: discrimination still continues today, just in other forms of race, culture, religion divide. Hence, we can all learn from women’s past movement, their struggles and victories to apply the same for today’s fight.

In conclusion, learning about our past can help us in making better, thought out decisions. For these reasons, I believe knowing about our past is crucial to both our present and future.