A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The issue of whether all students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college is a contentious one. While each side has its strength and weaknesses, I believe that no two students' capabilities or wishes are the same and they should be allowed to study a customised course instead of a "one size fits all" curriculum.

First, every student is good at something different. One may be good at sports or arts or music or science. Making such a variety of students the same things may result in their loss of confidence. A student who maybe good at sports may feel dumb when he does not do well in physics or vice versa. Hence, having the same curriculum for all may cause a lot of harm to the student's psych and self-esteem.

Secondly, it seems defunct to make everyone learn the same thing, when after college, they are going to diversify into different fields and the previously learned knowledge would be nothing but just a wastage of time and money. A student who goes to an arts college would have no use of what he learned in physics earlier. Instead of waiting till college to diversify the scope of their teachings, its better to do it from the start.

Some may argue that teaching a universal curriculum would give every student an equal chance and an equal footing in the race for college admissions but this point is flawed. While I agree that a basic knowledge of maths, science,etc must be taught to all at an initial level but teaching it throughout until college is simply not logical. It is a waste of resources and this time may well be better spent in encouraging the differences in every student's capabilities and nurturing them.

In conclusion, making all students study the same national curriculum until college does more harm that help the students. It would be much better to nurture their individual spirits and ambitions.