Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine.

The author’s argument that young league sports should be completely discontinued since it has more disadvantages than advantages is flawed and full of assumptions. In the argument, the author draws a conclusion from insufficient data obtained from a limited sample to make a sweeping generalization about an entire population. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of pointing out a specific number of injuries without any base to justify ending young league sports.

To begin with, the author states that as per a recent study, youth league soccer players face psychological pressure from coaches and parents to do well. But, is this true for youths from all strata of society? Maybe mostly youngsters from financially weak families or who come from sporting background faced this issue and not others. In that case, the result of the study can’t be used to come to the author’s conclusion.

Secondly, the author claims over 40,000 young players were injured. But, is that a huge amount or a normal amount of injuries? In fact, were the injuries even gained during practice or maybe during off hours? The author fails to mentions out of how many players this number is and assumes that this is a sufficient number to reach his conclusion.

Finally, the author states that since as per experts, the long practice sessions take away time from academics, hence it’s bad for the young players. How did he reach the assumption that academics is more important in sports? If someone is preparing for a career in sports, shouldn’t they spend more time in practice only? Again, this assumption is baseless and can't be used to reach a conclusion.

In conclusion, the author assumes that due to some injuries and psychological stress which may or may not be related to sports and may apply to a particular section of society only, the young sports league should be stopped. But, his arguments are full of loopholes and need to be strengthened with facts before coming to a conclusion. Otherwise, it would just lead a swift and sad ending to aspiring and bright young careers.