The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

In the given arguemnt , the author states that the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former level . The author has not has not taken into consideration the several factors that might lead to a decrease in the advertising revenue .The author has not provided any statistical data whether the number of people watching the television has decreased or not . This can be a very helpful data to know whether there is a decline in the number of people watching televsion or not . For example , the audiance may have stopped watching television and might have swichted to other streaming platforms like YouTube which might be a reson that the number of people watching television has decreased and thus the advertising companies have chossen these platforms to advertise other than the television leading to a cancellations in advertising contracts .

Additionally , what type of complaints have the vieweres reported to the television station is not specifically mentioned . These complaints might inculde various topics like the quality of the content. These may not be necessarliy be toward the time of the coverage thus on basis of the maximum complaints recevied that are not categorized on basis of the cause the television station manager should not take the decision to restore the time to its former level without deep investigating the actcual cause of the issues .Additionally , the author has assumed that since the televison station is showing less local news the local bussiness have stopped adversiting with the televison station . The actual situation might be different . The local bussiness might have suffered losses because of which they have cut down the advertising expenses . Thus cancelling the contracts . This factor must also be considered when the television station manager decides to restore the timeIn conculsion , The argument give fails to explain the resons why the television sation manager must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level