The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The business manager of a television station is arguing that they need to restore the time devoted to weather and local news which they have reduced from the past year.

The first reason that the manager was stating is that most of the complaints received currently were related to concerns with the coverage of weather and local news. To either strengthen or weaken this argument we need to know the total increase or decrease in the nunber of complaints related to the coverage of all types of news. While the number of complaints concerned with the coverage of weather and local the news have increased the number of complaints concerned with the coverage of national news might have reduced even further.

The manager also stated that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts. We don't know for sure the reason behind this. It could be because of the introduction of newer types of platforms such as social media where the advertisements would be more effective compared to the advertisements in television. So, we need the relative count of advertisers from previous year to current year for not just for the late-night news of this particular station but also during other programs of this particular station and moreover for other television stations in general. From this data we can understand if the reason for decrease in the advertisers is the type of news coverage or not.

One more data point that would be helpful is the total viewer count during the late-night news. This would help us understand whether the viewers are actually interested in local and weather news or not.