The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The memorandum from the business manager seems well intended and coherent at first glance. It states that the station's decision to devote increased time to the national news and less time to the weather and local news has led them to receive complaints from the viewers and to lose advertising revenue. There are some flaws with this statement.

Firstly, the statistics of what the views were prior to this change and what they are currently have not been specified. It is possible that there may not be any correlation between display of national news and lose being faced by the station. The type of national news that is being shown has not been mentioned. It fails to mention the nature of the news, whether it is the same rebroadcast of the news shown earlier that day or an unimportant filler news or some new exciting news. If it is an serious news then the viewers would surely not have any complaints against it. The station fails to analyze its content consumers.

Also when the statement mentions "increased time", but again does not specify the amount. This television station may not be allotting proper time to the weather and local news any time before the late-night news. The elaborate details of how the time allotment was before the implementation of this change is lacking. If broadcasting weather and local news during their late-night news program was their unique selling point (USP) of this television station then they certainly are receiving complaints from their viewers by reducing it.

The loosing of advertisement revenue is not entirely concerned with the increased devotion of time to national news. Advertising can be done independently of the content being broadcasted. Even with national news a section of the screen can be devoted to advertisement. Or there can be intervals dedicated to them. What is being shown does not limit them from incorporating an advertisement if the revenue generated by it matters so much.

When stating that they receive complaints from the viewers, the statement again fails to elaborate on the nature of the complaints being received. Are these complaints about the matter stated or are they irrelevant to this and concerning some other aspect.

The complaint letters may prove to be a good source to gauge the type of content the viewers want. If the station feels they can conduct a survey to analyze their viewers and after much consideration come to a judgement of what will be beneficial for them to attract viewers.