The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The passage written by the business manager recommends to increase the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level. The author supports his or her position by stating that as a consequence of the shorter weather and local news coverage local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts with the station. Moreover, he states that viewers' complaints were concerned with these segments of late-night program. Nonetheless, before taking any action, the television station management should collect several pieces of evidence to ensure that the assumptions made in the passage are correct.

Firstly, the business manager assumes that the viewers are unhappy because the time devoted to weather and local news is too short. However, he bases this conclusion only on the number of complaints and doesn't address their content. It may be the case that viewers are unhappy with the way these segments are presented or, probably, they don't want to see weather and local news in the program at all. In such a case, the longer coverage wouldn't solve any problem. Conversely, it may only lead to higher level of dissatisfaction among the viewers. Thus, the information on specific content of complaints is needed.

Secondly, the memorandum supposes that in the case weather and local news coverage is restored to its previous lenght, the number of viewers will increase. However, even if the viewers in fact were dissatisfied with the lenght of these segments, there is no evidence that there was a loss of audience. It may be the case that viewers, while complaining, still watched the program as much as before. Moreover, there is no reason to think that the restored time for local news and weather will attract new viewers who never watched the program before. The inforamation on the dynamics of views number and viewers' preferences is needed to make informed conclusions about the possible effects of this change.

Thirdly, the passage states that shorter coverage of local news and weather was the reason behind the cancellation of advertising contracts. But there could be other causes of that. For instance, there may be an economic downturn in the region. In this case local companies suffer losses and cannot afford to spend as much funds as before on advertising. Another possibility is that companies are dissatisfied with some other aspect of television station's policy. Probably, it has raised prices for advertising or it is becoming less popular in the region. The station should conduct a survey to make sure it understands correctly the reasons why companies didn't resume their contracts.

To sum up, the station should examine additional evidence in order to find out if the manager's recommendation is going to be effective. The content of viewers' complaints should be analyzed to determine the exact problem with weather and local news coverage. The companies should be asked about the reasons why they cancelled their advertising contracts. Furthermore, the behaivour and preferences of viewers should be studied in more detail.