Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning by mistakes is often considered to be one of the most important ways of acquiring practical knowledge. Humans are certainly capable of analyzing the reasons behind the previous failure and taking into account this information. However, there are certain doubts that people actually do it, and they are exacerbated in the case when the mistake was made not be the person themselves. While I believe that learning by mistakes may provide us with valuable warning and advice, I doubt that it is the universal decision-making tool for many people.

To start with, research in social psychology tells us that people are reluctant to take into account the experience of other people. A number of experiments showed that people don't place the same importance in mistakes of other people, they treat it essentially as facts from fictional novels, not like something that can be relevant to their lives. This is why people continue doing the same mistakes every generation. For example, young people tend to believe that their first love will last forever or that they don't need to worry too much about healthy lifestyle. The example of many older people including their own parents doesn't have a pronounced effect in most cases. In general, people are not wise enough to incorporate experience of others.

Moreover, people are often convinced that 'this time is different'. For example, it may be illustrated by a long history of financial bubbles and crashes. The first cases of this phenomena predate the 19th century; every couple of decades a massive crash of international significance occurs. However, even when people see that a certain asset is overpriced, they continue to invest in it, and mass media continue to claim that this time the price is actually sound. The recent bitcoin boom had a very similar precedence, which occurred in early 2000s, when the Internet was actively developing and people invested aboundantly into everything relevant to this new technology. It was called 'dotcom bubble', and it crushed. Bitcoin also depreciated significantly in the last year and many people who invested in it when it was expensive lost their money. It was perfectly possible to predict this based on the history, and yet the crash happened. One more consideration to take into account is that sometimes situation in fact differ, and we cannot extrapolate past experience on the future. It this case blindly following advices of ancestors may be not the best course of action.

To sum up, while past can provide us with valuable knowledge about any aspect of life, most people tend to ignore this knowledge, and the reasons for that lie in human psychology. Learning by past mistakes may be helpful in many situations, but in practice people are rarely use this opportunity.