Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage states that “Palean” wooden baskets, previously thougt to be made exclusively by people from the ancient village Palea, were also made by residents of a nearby village called Lithos. The premisis of this conclusion is that the Brim River, which divides these two villages, is too broad to be crossed without a boat and no Palean boat have been found. However, the conclusion depends on a number of assumtions, so additional evidence is needed in order to evaluate it.

Firstly, the depth and width of the Brim River might have changed since the days when the “Palean” baskets were made. It is widely known that sometimes rivers may change their width, so it is worth considering if in the era of Palea and Lithos the Brim River looked the same way as it looks now. Maybe, it was possible to cross it by swimming at that time. More data on geographical changes in the area is needed to find out if the people living in Palea could swim to Lithos.

Secondly, it is assumed that crossing the river was possible only in one place. However, some rives have places where thay are more shallow or less wide than usual. If it is the case with the Brim river, it is possible that Palean people were able to cross the river by swimmimg at some other place. It would explain how they managed to bring the wooden baskets to Lithos. Thus, additional information on the places where the river is less deep and wide is needed to make sure that the argument holds.

Thirdly, the passage presupposes that the absence of remaints of Palen boats means that no Palean boat ever existed. However, it is possible that, during the time passed since th days of Palea and Lithos, these remaints were lost or destroyed. It is quite probable that they were made from wood, and wood is a material what is susceptible to erosion. It means that even if there were Palean boats, they could be destroyed by the time. Moreover, the Palean people might have decided that they don’t need these boats anymore and use the wood from which they were made for some other purpose. Another possibility is that these boats might have been destroyed by fire. Additional research is needed to find out if the residents of Palea used boats. For example, it is possible to check pictures from that time or examine if the boats were mentioned in some texts written then.

To sum up, the argument above appears flawed and additional research is needed to evaluate if the conclusion is correct. It is recommendable to check how the Brim River changed during the time passed and whether it had places where it was possible to cross it without a boat. Furthermore, it is necessary to establish if there are mentions of excistence of Palean boats.