"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage states that Super Screen Movie Production Company should increase its funding for advertising. The reason behind this pice of eadvice is that the share of positive reviews increased during the time when movie attendance fell. Nonetheless, before implementing this recommendation, several questions sould be asked as it depends crucially on a number of assumptions.

Firstly, the author of the passage supposes that tastes of reviewers are idential to the tastes of general public. It is not neccessarily so. Reviews may be written by professional critics who doesn't value the same qualities of movies as the prospecitve viewers. For example, they may place more emphasis on the quality of film-making, while the audience might want to see attractive characters and spectacular action sequances. Additional surveys should be conducted in order to understand how the opinion of the reviewers correlates with the public opinion.

Secondly, while it is stated that the share of positive reviews went up, it is unclear if this share is high. It may be the case that last year only 10% of reviewers were happy with the movies. Then, even 20% of positive reviews may be seen as a significant improvement. At the same time, the proportion of good reviews remains low, so Super Screen movies can't be called high-quality ones. Thus, the information about the past and current share of positive reviews is needed.

Thirdly, it is unclear how the increase in advertisement funding will affect the attendance of the movies. In some cases, it may be ineffective or even counterproductive. For example, there may be already plenty of advertising for Super Screen movies, and people are tired of constantly encountering it. In this case, more advertising will annoy people, and their attitide to Super Screen Movies may deteriorate. Another possible case is that advertising funds may be used ineffectively. Probably, the advertising is poorly designed and doesn't reach the target audience. For example, it is showed in the TV channels that the target audience rarely watch. Thus, even if the funding is used to show the advertising more frequently, it will have little to no effect. At the same time, by switching the channel the Super Screen advertisement may reach more people interested in watching movie of their genre. Probably, it may be done without the increase in funding for advertisements. Consequntly, the company should conduct marketing research to answer the question if the funds may be used more productively and how the public is going to react at the increase in advertisiment budget.

To sum up, the argument in its current form is not persuasive enought. Additional information should be required to find out if the assumptions made are justified by the evidence. If any of them are false, the higher budget for advertisement is unlikely to improve the performance of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.