The following memorandum is from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin a sugar substitute throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA Contrary to initial expectations this change did not have an

The manager of Bagel Mania bakery suggests that all of its branches from USA should replace sugar with saccharin pointing out the impact of the same change done in Northeastern areas of USA. This explanation made by the manager does not validate any of the facts. He has done nothing but jumped to an optimistic conclusion by testing the results on a small sample of population.

The manager states that 10 percent of total customers have argued with this change. He considers this as a small amount. But, he has not provided any proof or evidence supporting his claim. Also, he has not mentioned the category of customers who were surveyed. Saccharin is not as sweet as compared to sugar. This implies that there is a high chance of children disliking the replacement. If all of the branches replace sugar with saccharin, there is a high possibility of branches having majority of their customers as children to lose their business.

The survey about feedback of change in ingredients was recorded in Northeast areas of USA. The manager makes a baseless assumption that similar feedback will be recorded on other parts of the country. Also, he has not mentioned any of the products that the customers ordered during this survey. It is possible that food items ordered by customers during survey are intended to be less sweet. If the same replacement of sugar to saccharin is applied to cakes and desserts which are intended to be more sweet, there is a higher chance that negative reviews will be recorded during the survey.

The manager has not considered nutritional qualities of saccharin. If it is found that saccharin is more harmful than sugar, then this replacement will have a negative impact. He has not mentioned anywhere the costs of sugar and saccharin. It is a high chance that customers will have a great concern while ordering saccharin based food. If sugar is cheaper, then replacing it will lead to lower net-profit margins made by Bagel Mania. He has not provided any of the numbers which claim that saccharin is cheaper than sugar and is nutritionally beneficial as well. Hence, the manager has directly jumped to an optimistic conclusion based on some random assumptions.

The manager has done nothing but reached an optimistic conclusion of replacing sugar with saccharin. He has not provided any evidences or proofs which help in supporting his claim. Many factors are needed to be considered before making this kind of change in the whole USA.